Lazari’s

021 461 9865
Cnr Upper Maynard & Vredehoek Ave.,
Cape Town, 8001 (map)
lazari1

  • Service 3/5
  • Atmosphere 3/5
  • Taste 3/5
  • Menu choices 3/5
  • Wheat free – Yes
  • Vegetarian – Yes
  • Coffee – 3/5
  • Toilet condition 3/5
  • Price $$$

Lazari used to be my local and old faithful and still a firm favourite

Although my eye’s have been opened to the many offerings in our city, I love Lazari! The food is always good, the staff remember you and are friendly and attentive. It is not a vacuous space and the comfort for their venue shines through in your food.

lazari2

It has an open kitchen, which I love, and a cashier full of home-baked treats that are very difficult to refuse.

I always order the same thing, 2 medium poached eggs on rye and if I am feeling particularly hungry, a side of avocado or bacon. I am never disappointed. The eggs are always done perfectly, the toast doesn’t need a steak knife to cut through and the avocado is ripe and the bacon crispy.

A few things stand out for me at Lazari:

  1. Their attention to detail – Presentation is accurate but never pretentious.
  2. They know the difference between a cappuccino and a flat white  – So often other venues serve these to be exactly the same.
  3. Like Cheers – A welcoming local and they are always glad to see you.

As one friend put it, you are bound to see people you know. So if you have something to hide from the night before, best give it a couple of weeks before visiting for a relaxing, not awkward at all breakfast.

lazari3

I have come to the conclusion that the standard of food in Cape Town is very high. We have investigated a few well known places but it is the independent venue that keep producing the best breakfast so far.

There are still so many places to try and each week I get suggestions on places were people are convinced the breakfast is the best.

I am still on the look out so the search continues…

Leave a comment