Dear Me

dearme_logo

165 LONG MARKET
CAPE TOWN

021 422 4920

Breakfast 7am – 11am | Lunch 12pm – 3pm | Mondays to Fridays | Dinner Thursday Only

  • Service 3.5/5
  • Atmosphere 3.5/5
  • Taste 3.5/5
  • Menu choices 4/5
  • Wheat free – Yes
  • Vegetarian – Yes
  • Coffee – 3.5/5
  • Price $$$

I have waited ages to dine at Dear Me and on Friday, I got the chance!

As they so proudly state “Our name “Dear Me” is inspired by our understanding that different people have different needs when it comes to what they eat so our menu is designed to be flexible enough to always provide options for individual dietary requirements. You should be able to eat with us every day and never feel guilty about compromising your personal food values and beliefs. Be good and kind to yourself and your environment.”

Why has it taken me so long to eat here? It was a visual and culinary treat. In the height of the Cape Town crazy season we were able to get a seat and the calmness and tranquility of the venue and waiters instantly put you at ease.

Choosing something on their beautifully crafted menu was a challenge. Deciding to sway away from my regular poached eggs on toast, I was not disappointed.

DearMe 3

My dining companion chose the eggs Benedict. Having tested the dish from as far-flung as Vietnam, I took it on good authority when she said that the dish was “one of the best Cape Town has to offer”.

DearMe 4

Simplistic without being clinical the venue and the dishes burst with intrigue and the attention to detail is immaculate. Upside-down pot plants hanging from the ceiling, home-made biscotti and well though out dishes to keep you coming back again and again.

I have my sister-in-law visit next year, who is coeliac (wheat and gluten intolerant), and Dear Me is definitely on the list of places to dine.

This may be my last entry for 2013 but cant wait to continue to seek Cape Town’s Best Breakfast in 2014.

Happy Holidays!

DearMe 5

Leave a comment